The Sopranos (DVD) Review

Along with Sex And The City, the HBO original series The Sopranos took the world by storm in the late-1990s with its cutting edge drama and acerbic wit. A cross between The Godfather and the traditional nuclear sitcom family, the show provided a unique experience for a niche audience that quickly developed into a barrage of dedicated fans. Nominated for countless Emmy’s, and winner of at least four in every one of its seasons except Season 2 (in which it carried home one), The Sopranos has cemented itself as one of the elite shows in television history…

Golden Globe performer James Gandolfini plays the title role of Tony Soprano, a middle-aged father of two, loving husband, and successful businessman. But contrary to a typical sitcom, Tony finds himself irritated by his kids Anthony and Meadow (Robert Iler and Jamie Lynn Sigler), he cheats on his wife Carmela (Edie Falco), and the business organization responsible for his success is the mafia (of which he is the local boss). All the confusion in Tony’s life leads to massive amounts of stress, prompting him to regularly visit a therapist, Dr. Jennifer Melfi (Lorraine Bracco) – one of the few outsiders he trusts. Following a classic prime time soap opera format, quite similar to the hit TV show Dallas, The Sopranos provides audiences with a glimpse into the life and times of a mafia boss, where we find out that being a mob kingpin isn’t the glamour life often portrayed in the movies…

The Sopranos DVD offers a number of dramatic episodes including the self-titled series premiere in which the groundwork for the show is set when Tony Soprano visits a therapist in hopes of ending his panic attacks (sounds similar to the plot for Analyze This!). In his initial session with the beautiful Dr. Melfi, Tony confides in her the stressful aspects of his extraordinary life – a demanding job, an unhappy wife, and rebellious kids (among other problems)… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “College” in which Tony takes his daughter on a college orientation trip to Maine where he encounters a former (and current) enemy, and “A Hit is a Hit” in which Tony strikes out when he attempts to make friends outside of his close-knit circle…

Below is a list of episodes included on The Sopranos (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (The Sopranos) Air Date: 01-10-1999
Episode 2 (46 Long) Air Date: 01-17-1999
Episode 3 (Denial, Anger, Acceptance) Air Date: 01-24-1999
Episode 4 (Meadowlands) Air Date: 01-31-1999
Episode 5 (College) Air Date: 02-07-1999
Episode 6 (Pax Soprana) Air Date: 02-14-1999
Episode 7 (Down Neck) Air Date: 02-21-1999
Episode 8 (The Legend of Tennessee Moltisanti) Air Date: 02-28-1999
Episode 9 (Boca) Air Date: 03-07-1999
Episode 10 (A Hit is a Hit) Air Date: 03-14-1999
Episode 11 (Nobody Knows Anything) Air Date: 03-21-1999
Episode 12 (Isabella) Air Date: 03-28-1999
Episode 13 (I Dream of Jeannie Cusamano) Air Date: 04-04-1999

You need to login to contact with the Listing Owner. Click Here to log in.